Minimalism

Minimalism

Now there’s a thought. Many of us strive for more all the time. I’ve been guilty of it and still am at times, but since my redundancy five years ago my income has dropped nearly 80% and I’m fine.

I make less than £20k as does my partner and we still manage to do the things we want. We don’t Holiday every year, we are not fashion conscious, we don’t have the latest technology as the old stuff still works, we don’t have a fancy car.

An article from a friend has prompted me to continue removing things from my life that do not bring pleasure or regular function. I have yet to decide what to remove, maybe some books, empty the loft, guitars can go (maybe not that far yet).

What brings me pleasure these days are Mrs FC, the dogs, teaching, playing guitar, seeing others close to me do well. I don’t need or want the latest phones as I don’t need to prove myself to anyone on that level. It’s all about ego and insecurities, anyway.  Same goes for cars, TVs, hifi’s, etc. Someone else has created that thing you desire, what have you done? Create don’t consume.  Also, do not let that process of creation become one of consumption, too.

I do want the coffee maker (notice the word “want”) but I could live without it.

I wonder what possessions I could not live without?

About markwitney

Musician and teacher. Guitarist, bassist, ukulele-ist, lutenist and an ist!
This entry was posted in Dogs, Guitar, Happiness, Life, Peace, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

